MINUTES

Meeting:Confirmation Hearings CommitteeDate:Thursday 9 June 2016Time:2.00 pmPlace:Chamber, City Hall, The Queen's
Walk, London, SE1 2AA

Copies of the minutes may be found at: www.london.gov.uk/mayor-assembly/london-assembly-confirmation-hearings-committee

Present:

Andrew Boff AM (Chair) Jennette Arnold OBE AM Gareth Bacon AM Florence Eshalomi AM David Kurten AM Joanne McCartney AM Steve O'Connell AM Caroline Russell AM Dr Onkar Sahota AM

1 Apologies for Absence and Chair's Announcements (Item 1)

- 1.1 Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Tom Copley AM, for whom Joanne McCartney AM attended as a substitute; Len Duvall AM for whom. Florence Eshalomi AM attended as a substitute; and Peter Whittle AM, for whom David Kurten AM attended as a substitute.
- 1.2 The Chair stated that, in accordance with Standing Order 8.2, he had agreed that Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM could attend the meeting for the Confirmation Hearing for the office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London (TfL) as a non-voting observer.

2 Declarations of Interests (Item 2)

2.1 **Resolved:**

(a) That the list of offices held by Assembly Members, as set out in the table at Agenda Item 2, be noted as disclosable pecuniary interests; and

(b) That the gifts and hospitality received by Members, as set out in the Authority's gifts and hospitality register, be noted.

- 2.2 The Chair invited Fiona Twycross AM to declare any interests relevant to the business of the meeting or in relation to her appointment to the office of Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority. Fiona Twycross AM confirmed she did not have any relevant interests to declare.
- 2.3 Before the commencement of the confirmation hearing for the office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London (Agenda Item 7), the Chair invited Valerie Shawcross CBE to declare any interests relevant to the business of the meeting or in relation to her appointment to the office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London. Valerie Shawcross CBE confirmed that she did not have any relevant interests to declare.

3 Membership of the Committee (Item 3)

3.1 **Resolved:**

That the membership and chairing arrangements for the Committee made by the Annual Meeting of the Assembly on 13 May 2016, be noted as follows:

Andrew Boff AM (Chair) Jennette Arnold AM Gareth Bacon AM Tom Copley AM Len Duvall AM Steve O'Connell AM Caroline Russell AM Dr Onkar Sahota AM Peter Whittle AM

4 Term of Reference (Item 4)

4.1 **Resolved:**

That the terms of reference, as agreed at the Annual Meeting of the London Assembly on 13 May 2016, as set at Agenda Item 4 for the meeting, be noted.

5 Minutes (Item 5)

5.1 **Resolved:**

That the minutes of the meeting held on 13 October 2015 be signed by the Chair as a correct record.

6 Confirmation Hearing in Respect of the Appointment to the Office of Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (Item 6)

- 6.1 The Committee received the report of the Executive Director of Secretariat.
- 6.2 Before moving to the question and answer session with the Mayor's nominee for the office of Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority, the Chair asked the Committee to formally note the background information circulated with the agenda for the meeting and the information received and circulated after publication of the agenda (attached at **Appendix 1** to these minutes).
- 6.3 The Committee then put questions to Fiona Twycross AM in relation to her proposed appointment.
- 6.4 The transcript of the question and answer session is attached at **Appendix 2**.
- 6.5 Following the question and answer session, the Committee discussed its recommendation to the Mayor in relation to this appointment and it was agreed unanimously to recommend that the Mayor should proceed with his appointment of Fiona Twycross AM to the office of Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority.

6.6 **Resolved:**

(a) That the background information set out on the agenda at Appendices 1 to 3 to the report be noted.

- (b) That the following information received and circulated after publication of the agenda, be noted:
 - (i) An updated summary of the role and responsibilities of the Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority, including a summary of key issues and priorities for the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority for the 2016/17 year and beyond; and
 - (ii) A CV and supporting statement from Fiona Twycross AM.
- (c) That it be agreed to recommend that the Mayor should proceed with his appointment of Fiona Twycross AM to the office of Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority.
- 6.7 Following the conclusion of this Confirmation Hearing at 2.42pm the Chair, with the consent of the Committee, adjourned the meeting and reconvened it at 2.46pm.

7 Confirmation Hearing in Respect of the Appointment to the Office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London (Item 7)

- 7.1 The Committee received the report of the Executive Director of Secretariat.
- 7.2 Before moving to the question and answer session with the Mayor's nominee for the office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London, the Chair asked the Committee to formally note the background information circulated with the agenda for the meeting and the information received and circulated after publication of the agenda (attached at **Appendix 3** to these minutes).
- 7.3 The Committee then put questions to Valerie Shawcross CBE in relation to her proposed appointment.
- 7.4 The transcript of the question and answer session is attached at **Appendix 4**.
- 7.5 Following the question and answer session, the Committee discussed its recommendation to the Mayor in relation to this appointment and it was agreed unanimously to recommend that the Mayor should proceed with his appointment of Valerie Shawcross CBE to the office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London.

7.6 **Resolved:**

(a) That the background information set out on the agenda at Appendices 1 to 3 to the report be noted.

- (b) That the following information received and circulated after publication of the agenda, be noted:
 - (i) An updated summary of the role and responsibilities of the Deputy Chair of Transport for London, including a summary of key issues and priorities for Transport for London for the 2016/17 year and beyond; and
 - (ii) A CV and supporting statement from Valerie Shawcross CBE.
- (c) That it be agreed to recommend that the Mayor should proceed with his appointment of Valerie Shawcross CBE to the office of Deputy Chair of Transport for London.

8 Date of Next Meeting (Item 8)

8.1 The Committee noted that no further meetings of the Committee had been scheduled.

9 Any Other Business the Chair Considers Urgent (Item 9)

9.1 There was no urgent business requiring consideration.

10 Close of Meeting

10.1 The meeting ended at 4.24pm.

Chair / Man

Date

Contact Officer: Joanna Brown and Teresa Young, Senior Committee Officers; Telephone: 020 7983 6559; Email: joanna.brown@london.gov.uk; and teresa.young@london.gov.uk; Minicom: 020 7983 4458